Home > FAQ

Arrow Menu FAQ Arrow Menu

FAQ

01. How long does study at ITM take?

The duration of studies is 2 years. On completion of these two years, students may continue for an additional year, in order to further their skills and prepare for the transition into the working world.

02. What level of education or previous training is required for admission?

Admission is open to students with a baccalaureate level (examination on completion of secondary education).

03. Is it essential to have previous art training for admission to ITM?

Admission to the make-up artist program does not require previous artistic training. Needless to say it is always a plus! However, an artistic outlook is essential for make-up. As the make-up artist's approach is similar to that of the artist's. It is often necessary to imagine and create characters, to work with light and shade, colors and volumes. At ITM, the training includes instruction in drawing, painting, sculpture and art history.

04. What is the school's status (private/public)?

ITM is a private technical higher educational institution registered with the Rectorat de Paris (Parisian Educational Board) under the n°0754952A. Enrolment entitles the candidate to student status and student social security.

05. How much are the annual fees? Are there any special payment or loan terms?

The fees for the year 2016/2017 amounted to € 6,950 per annum. They are payable in instalments. ITM has a partnership with the bank BNP Paribas allowing students to benefit from preferential interest rates.

06. What are the admission requirements?

Admission to ITM is on interview. The candidate must present his academic record and possibly any document which might promote his candidature. These can be drawings, paintings, photos or whatever the candidates thinks suitable. It is advisable to submit your application as early as possible. Registration is open from January.

07. When was ITM created and by whom?

The school was founded in 1985 on the initiative of the renowned French cinema make-up artist: Aida Carange.

08. Contact details/Location/Access?

For more information, please contact Vanessa at 33 (1) 44 08 11 44 or send an e-mail. The school is located in Paris, in the heart of the student district in the 5th arrondissement. To view the location or the nearest metro click on map.

09. Who are ITM's business partners?

Each year, ITM signs new partnerships with production companies, television channels, theatres, cinema schools, fashion schools, photography schools, and cosmetic brands. In doing so the school establishes long-term net working and professional collaboration. For a list of key partners, click on Partners.

10. What are the different specializations offered by ITM?

At ITM, all areas of make-up are studied: film, fashion, theatre, television. In the second year, specific options of 40 to 50 hours allows students to specialize. The options are as follows: special effects prostheses (SFX), fashion (MODE) and airbrush make-up (AERO).

11. What are conditions of admission for foreign students?

Students of 20 different nationalities enroll at ITM every year. In certain countries (China, Poland, Russia…), the Institute has established partnerships with local organizations in order to allow candidates to complete the admission formalities in their own country. For details of these organizations, contact the office at ITM. Students from other countries can send their application by mail or e-mail (cover letter, diplomas and possibly personal art work). They will then receive a pre-registration formula which will enable them to carry out the necessary administrative formalities (visa application…).

12. How to find a make-up trainee or a professional make-up artist trained by ITM?

To submit an internship offer, please go to the internship section of this site. To find a make-up artist for your team, contact François Regaudie at the internship department by telephone at 33 (1) 44 08 11 42 or by e-mail.

13. What has become of the make-up artists trained by ITM? Participation in performing arts, filming, commercials, TV shows, etc.

ITM remains in contact with its alumni. Some of whom, after significant professional experience as make-up artists (film, theatre, fashion, television…) return to the school to share their know-how on shoots, theatre production or catwalks. Others take on students for work placements and enable them to attend various events. Regular information concerning former students is given in the News section.

14. Where can you meet the ITM teaching team (upcoming events, information meetings)?

An ITM team, accompanied by students, is generally present at parisian students shows and fairs (Salon de l’Éducation, Salon des formations artistiques, Salon de L’Étudiant…). The team is available to answer all your questions. In addition, students give demonstrations in various areas of make-up. You can watch them at work, creating characters throughout the day. The school reception is open from 8:30 am to 7:00 pm. A member of staff can answer your questions and show you around the school (by appointment only).

15. How can I get documentation?

To receive the school brochure, simply fill in the attached form (contact-us) or call Vanessa at 33 (1) 44 08 11 44.

16. How is the school calendar organized (starting dates/end of term)?

The school year generally begins the first week of October, first year courses finish in late May, followed by a six week training placement. Second year courses run from early October to late June. The third year has a different schedule, alternating theoretical courses and work placements throughout the year.

17. What's the latest ITM news? School participation in events, shows, exhibitions…

To keep you up to date on current ITM events, you can refer to the News section of the site

18. Are there any make-up workshops other than the classical training programs (initial and advanced)?

ITM has established short workshops. These include training aimed at developing personal and professional competences: auto make-up, manicure, image consulting… These workshops do not require specific prior knowledge. For professionals already in the work place wishing to enhance their skills, there are also short-term workshops. They primarily aim to update professional know how, and allow the discovery of new techniques such as airbrush for example.

Arrow Menu FAQ Arrow Menu

FAQ

01. Combien d’années d’études requiert la formation ?

La durée des études est de 2 ans. À l’issue de ces 2 ans, certains étudiants peuvent poursuivre pendant une année complémentaire afin de se perfectionner et de préparer au mieux leur entrée dans le monde professionnel.

02. À quel niveau d’études peut-on intégrer l’école et avec quelle formation antérieure ?

L’admission est ouverte aux étudiants disposant d’un niveau bac, quel que soit le type de bac.

03. Faut-il impérativement une formation artistique pour intégrer ITM ?

Pour intégrer la formation de maquilleur, il n’est pas indispensable d’avoir suivi une formation artistique. C’est un plus ! Cependant il faut posséder une sensibilité artistique car la démarche du maquilleur s’apparente à celle d’un artiste. Il est souvent amené à imaginer et créer des personnages, à travailler les ombres et lumières, les couleurs, les volumes. À ITM, la formation comporte un enseignement en dessin, peinture, modelage et en histoire de l’art.

04. Quel statut a l’école (privé/public) ?

ITM est un établissement d’enseignement supérieur technique privé déclaré auprès du Rectorat de Paris sous le n°0754952A. La formation ouvre droit au statut étudiant et à la sécurité sociale étudiante.

05. À combien s’élèvent les frais d’inscriptions ? Existent-ils des modalités de prêt et/ou de paiement ?

Les frais d'études pour l’année 2016/2017 s’élèvent à 6950 € par an. Ils sont payables en plusieurs fois. ITM a noué un partenariat avec la BNP permettant aux étudiants de bénéficier d’un taux préférentiel.

06. Quelles sont les conditions d’admissions ?

L’admission à ITM se fait sur entretien de motivation. Le candidat doit se présenter avec son dossier scolaire et, éventuellement, tout document qui peut valoriser sa candidature. Il peut présenter des travaux de dessins, peintures, des photos ou tout autre élément de son choix. Il est souhaitable de présenter sa candidature au plus. Les inscriptions sont ouvertes dès janvier.

07. Quand a été créé ITM ? Par qui ?

L’école a été créée en 1985 à l’initiative d’une grande chef maquilleuse française de cinéma : Aïda Carange. (voir sa filmographie)

08. Contact / Coordonnées / Accès ?

Pour toute information, vous pouvez contacter Vanessa au 33 (1) 44 08 11 44 ou envoyer un e.mail. L’école se situe à Paris, au cœur du quartier étudiant, dans le 5ème arrondissement. Pour consulter le plan d’accès ou le métro le plus proche, cliquer sur plan d’accès.

09. Quelles sont les entreprises partenaires de l’école ?

Chaque année, ITM signe de nouveaux partenariats avec des sociétés de production, des télévisions, des théâtres, des écoles de cinéma, de mode, de photos, des sociétés de cosmétiques. L’objectif est d’établir des collaborations à long terme. Pour consulter la liste des principaux partenaires, cliquer sur Partenaires.

10. Quelles sont les différentes spécialisations proposées par ITM ?

À ITM, tous les secteurs du maquillage sont abordés : cinéma, mode, théâtre, télévision. En deuxième année, un module d’enseignement de 40 à 50 heures permet aux étudiants de se spécialiser. Les options proposées sont les suivantes : Effets spéciaux prothèses (SFX), Mode tendance (Mode) et Maquillage à l’airbrush (Aéro).

11. Quels conditions et moyens d’accès pour les étrangers ?

ITM reçoit chaque année des étudiants étrangers représentant environ 20 nationalités. Dans certains pays (Chine, Pologne, Russie…), l’Institut a mis en place des partenariats avec des organismes locaux permettant aux candidats d’effectuer les formalités d’admission sur place dans leur pays d’origine. Pour connaître les coordonnées de ces organismes, téléphoner au secrétariat d’ITM. Les ressortissants des autres pays peuvent envoyer leur candidature par courrier ou e.mail (lettre de motivation, diplômes et éventuellement photos de dessins ou peinture). Ils recevront ensuite un dossier de pré-inscription qui leur permettra d’effectuer les formalités administratives (demande de visa…).

12. Comment trouver un maquilleur-stagiaire ou un maquilleur professionnel formé par ITM ?

Pour déposer une offre de stage, reportez-vous à la rubrique stage. Pour intégrer un maquilleur professionnel à votre équipe, contactez directement François Regaudie au service des stages, par téléphone au 33 (1) 44 08 11 42 ou par e.mail.

13. Que sont devenus les maquilleurs formés par ITM ? Ex. de réalisations, participations à des spectacles, tournage de film, publicités, émissions TV, etc.

ITM reste en contact avec ses anciens étudiants. Certains, après une expérience professionnelle significative comme maquilleurs professionnels (cinéma, théâtre, mode, télévision…) interviennent à l’école et viennent transmettre leur savoir-faire acquis sur des tournages, des pièces de théâtre ou des défilés. D’autres prennent des étudiants en stage et leur permettent de les assister sur diverses manifestations. Des informations régulières sur les parcours des anciens sont données dans la rubrique Actualités.

14. Où rencontrer l’équipe pédagogique ITM (prochains salons, réunions d’informations) ?

Une équipe d’ITM, accompagnée d’étudiants, est généralement présente sur les salons étudiants parisiens (Salon de l’Éducation, Salon des formations artistiques, Salon de l’Étudiant…). Elle est à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions. Par ailleurs, les étudiants présents effectuent des démonstrations dans divers domaines du maquillage. Vous pourrez les regarder travailler et créer des personnages tout au long de la journée. L’accueil de l’école est ouvert de 8h30 à 19h. Une assistante pédagogique peut vous recevoir et vous faire visiter les locaux sur rendez-vous.

15. Comment obtenir de la documentation ?

Pour recevoir la plaquette de présentation de l’école, il vous suffit de remplir le document joint (contactez-nous) ou de téléphoner à Vanessa au 33 (1) 44 08 11 44.

16. Quel est le calendrier scolaire (Date de rentrée scolaire / fin des cours) ?

La rentrée scolaire s’effectue généralement la première semaine d’octobre, les enseignements de la première année se terminent fin mai. Un stage de 6 semaines est ensuite prévu. Le cursus de la deuxième s’étale de début octobre à fin juin. La troisième année a un rythme différent alternant cours théoriques et stages sur toute l’année.

17. Quelle actualité pour l’école ? Participation de l’école à des manifestations, spectacles, expositions…

Pour être informé(e) régulièrement sur l’actualité d’ITM et les prestations des élèves, vous pouvez vous vous reporter à la rubrique Actualités du site.

18. Existe-il des ateliers de maquillage en dehors du cycle de formation traditionnel (initiale ou continue) ?

ITM a mis en place des ateliers de courte durée destinés aux particuliers. Il s’agit notamment de formations ayant pour objectif d’apprendre à se mettre en valeur à des fins personnelles ou professionnelles : automaquillage, manucure, conseil en image… Ces ateliers ne nécessitent pas de connaissances préalables particulières. Pour les professionnels souhaitant se perfectionner, il existe aussi des ateliers de courte durée. Ils visent essentiellement la mise à jour des acquis et savoir-faire professionnels et la découverte de nouvelles techniques comme l’airbrush par exemple.